19th D. S. Borker Memorial Lecture – 24 August, 2017

What :  19th D. S. Borker Memorial Lecture, “My Vision of India: 2047 A.D.”, by
Prof. Bina Agarwal
Where :  Deshmukh Auditorium, India International Centre, New Delhi.
When : 24th August 2017, at 6:00 pm, (Please be seated by 6.20 p.m.)

D.S. BORKER MEMORIAL FOUNDATION Invites you to the 19th D. S. Borker Memorial Lecture.

“My Vision of India: 2047 A.D.” by Prof. Bina Agarwal

Bina Agarwal is Professor of Development Economics and Environment at the Global Development Institute, University of Manchester, UK. Prior to this, she was Director and Professor of Economics at the Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi University, where she continues to be affiliated. Educated at the Universities of Cambridge and Delhi, she has held distinguished teaching and research positions at many universities, including Harvard, Princeton, Michigan, Minnesota (as the Winton Chair), and the New York University School of Law. She was Harvard’s first Daniel Ingalls Visiting Professor and later a Research Fellow at the Ash Institute, Kennedy School of Government. She has also been a fellow of Radcliffe’s Bunting Institute at Harvard.

The D. S. Borker Lecture Series on “My Vision of India: 2047 A.D.” is a civil society initiative and was instituted in 1999. The lecture is held every year in the memory of D. S. Borker (1911-1979), Civil Servant and Public Sector Administrator, on August 24 at IIC-Deshmukh Auditorium, New Delhi. The idea behind the series is to strengthen our secular democratic values and traditions and encourage the process of thinking regarding the kind of India we want in 2047 – a hundred years after our independence from colonialism. This series is unique in that it has consistently showcased ideas and forward-looking agendas, often contrarian ideas and agendas, across a remarkable spectrum.
Debate, after all, is an intrinsic and invaluable part of a democratic and secular India.

There have already been eighteen lectures in the series.

Past speakers were:
Rabi Ray, former Speaker of the Lok Sabha (1999);
Madhu Dandavate, former Union Finance Minister (2000);
Vandana Shiva, Ecologist and Feminist (2001);
Mushirul Hasan, Historian (2002);
Bhalchandra Mungekar, then Vice-Chancellor, University of Mumbai (2003);
K. R. Narayanan, former President of India (2004);
Aruna Roy, Activist (2005);
Medha Patkar, Activist (2006);
Mahasweta Devi, Writer and Activist (2007);
Achin Vanaik, Political Scientist and Nandini Sundar, Sociologist (2008);
Amit Bhaduri, Economist (2009);
Dipankar Gupta, Sociologist (2010);
M. S. Swaminathan, Agricultural Scientist (Centenary Lecture-2011);
Rajmohan Gandhi, Thinker and Writer (2012);
Madhav Gadgil, Ecologist and Activist (2013);
N. Ram, Journalist and former Editor-in Chief, The Hindu (2014);
Colin Gonsalves, Senior Advocate and Founder Director, Human Rights Law Network (2015) and
P. Sainath, Journalist, former Rural Affairs Editor ,The Hindu and Founder Editor, People’s Archive of Rural India (2016).



Leave a Reply