Oxford India Lecture – September 2014

What: Oxford India Lecture
When: 15 September 2014, 6pm - 9pm
Where: Leela Palace Hotel, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi
Professor Andrew Hamilton, Vice Chancellor of the University of Oxford, invited OCSI members to be a part of a prestigious and high-profile event that the University of Oxford organised in New Delhi on 15 September 2014.
The event was the inaugural Oxford India Lecture, followed by the panel discussion, that took place at the Leela Palace Chanakyapuri, New Delhi, on Monday 15 September at 6.00pm. The University have held these lectures previously in London and Shanghai, where they have attracted large audiences of invited leaders from the private sector, government, academic and media sectors. The University are bringing the lecture series to Delhi because of the importance they and Professor Hamilton attach to India and to deepening the educational research links that has been built there.
Professor Robyn Norton delivered the lecture entitled “Mobilising Healthcare: Harnessing Science, Technology and Entrepreneurship”. Professor Norton is the founder and Principal Director of the George Institute for Global Health and Professor of Global Health and James Martin Professorial Fellow at Oxford. She is a leader in the exciting healthcare research and commercialisation efforts Oxford has undertaken in India, focused in deploying new technology to address India’s healthcare challenges in a cost-effective, scalable way.
There was a panel discussion following the lecture, with each panel member being invited to comment for a few minutes on Professor Norton’s remarks and/or share their own perspective on the topic of healthcare innovation for India, before the floor is opened for a brief moderated discussion. The panelists included Mr Kesav Desiraju and Mr Harpal Singh, who were moderated by Prof Ngaire Woods (Director of the Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford).
The evening culminated in a Reception.
The University of Oxford kindly opened the event to all members of the Oxford and Cambridge Society of India, regardless of the university affiliation.

Leave a Reply